Hankook Formula Vee Round 4 – 16 June 2016 – Zwartkops Raceway – Race Report

A Dominant Performance From Van Den Berg

The 4th Round of the 2016 Hankook SA National Formula Vee Championship, produced more than it’s fair share of drama. Peter Hills (Lubfusion Rhema 2), came into the event as log leader but picked up a problem during qualifying. The car was still in pieces, shortly before the start of the first heat and Hills would end up racing Geoff Tugwell’s Solar Utility V Max, for the rest of the day. Jaco Schriks (Black Steer Panorama Rhema 2), had his fly wheel disintegrate at the start of the first heat and failed to leave the start line, while Symm Grobler (Rhema 2), was a little off the pace. All this drama, gave Gert Van Den Berg, BP Nantes Motors Rhema 2, two comfortable wins on the day, while the best of the rest fought it out amongst themselves, for the minor placings.

By the end of the first heat, Van Der Berg was more than six seconds ahead of Grobler, who in turn, had Lendal Jansen (Bull Security Rhema 2), a fired up Ben Pienaar (BJ Pro Welding Rhema 2) and Liam Pienaar (Phoenix Jewellers Forza) all breathing down his neck, after Lushen Ramshander (Miami Products and Services Forza), who had been up with Grobler and Liam Pienaar earlier in the race, had retired with a blown motor.

Completing the points scoring positions, were Hills, Travas Rugheimer (Rhema 2), Brandon Hills (Lubfusion Rhema 1.5), Ross Rugheimer (Rhema 2) and Barry Du Plessis (Airex Lantis), after Ernie Vermark (DOE Parts Vision) had retired from the race, with a mechanical problem.

Ramchander failed to complete an engine change, between heats and would not start the second heat, while Hills was hoping for a better performance, after discovering that the timing on Geoff’s motor, was way off from where it should have been.

A very late afternoon start, for the second heat, saw Hills make a good start, only to be bumped in Turn 2 and spun, re-joining in last place. Out front, Van Den Berg romped away, to another win, more than six seconds ahead of the rest, while Hills’ progress, up through the backmarkers, was hampered by another spin at, Turn 2, later in the race. Ben Pienaar was right up there, battling it out with Grobler, Schriks and Jansen, for second place, with other battles raging all the way down the field, as the sun set and the temperature began to drop.

Out front, Van Den Berg went on to record his second comfortable win of the day, more than six seconds ahead of Grobler, Schriks, Jansen and Ben Pienaar, with the four of them all across the line, within six tenths of a second and they were followed home, by Liam Pienaar, Travas Rugheimer, Peter Hills, Brandon Hills, Ross Rugheimer, and DuPlessis, after Vermark had once again been forced to retire from the race.

– Kevin Jenkins