Holm Reigns Supreme

The final round of the 2015 Hankook SA National Formula Vee Championship saw Alan Holm (Office Direct Rhema 2) become the first driver, in the five decades of Formula Vee racing in this country, to secure an unprecedented fifth SA National Formula Vee Championship title! Back in 1982 and 1983, Geoff Thornton became the first multiple SA National Formula Vee Champion, after securing back to back titles. The following year, Gawie Gouws secured his second SA National Championship title, before going on to set a new record, of three SA National titles, in three separate decades, when he took the title again, in 1996!

From 2005 to 2007, Holm had secured three SA National Formula Vee Championships, in a row and then set a new record, with an unprecedented fourth title, in 2009. Now he has gone one better, setting a record that could possibly never be equaled, or bettered, despite what they say about records being made to be broken.

It was a perfect weekend for Holm, securing pole position in qualifying , by 0.364 of a second and then going on to win both heats, with only the 2004 SA National Champion Symm Grobler, leading the first lap of the first heat, before Holm slipped past and was never headed again.

In the first heat, it was three times SA National Formula Vee Champion Peter Hills (Lube Fusion Rhema 2) who crossed the finish line, 01.732 of a second behind Holm and he was followed home, by Gert Van Den Berg (BP Nantes Motors (Rhema 2), Brad Beningfield (Nashua Rhema 2), Grobler, Greg Wilson (Reflex Solutions Forza), Lushen Ramchander (Miami Products and Services Forza), two times SA National Formula Vee Champion Anthony Taylor (SolarUtility Rhema 2), Ben Pienaar (BJ Pro Welding Rhema 2), newcomer Lendl Jansen, scoring points on debut, Geoff Tugwell (SolarUtility Vmax) and Brandon Hills (Lube Fusion Rhema 1).

Finishing out of the points, where Barry Du Plessis (Tri Star Construction Rhema 1) and Ernie Vermaak (D.O.E Quality Parts Vision) who had hit Ruan Roodt’s (Tysonwheel Technologies Lantis) at Turn Six, after Roodt had spun in front of him and Vermaak was unable to see Roodt’s car, through the cloud of dust! They made contact and although Roodt was unable to continue, Vermaak got his car restarted and was able to complete the race, one lap down! The only other retirement of the race, had come from last year’s Champion Jaco Schriks (Black Steer / Office Direct Rhema 2) who had pitted on the opening lap, with a broken gearbox.

In the Second Heat, Holm secured his second victory of the day, ahead of Beningfield, Peter Hills, Van Den Berg, Grobler, Wilson, Schriks, Ramchander, Pienaar, Jansen, Brandon Hills, Du Plessis and Vermaak. Taylor had gone off the road between Turns One and Two, due to a suspected suspension failure and Tugwell and Roodt only completed six laps, after Tugwell had been well placed for a good finish, earlier in the race.

Holm not only took his fifth National title, but the overall race winner’s Trophy as well, with Peter Hills and Van Den Berg, picking the Trophies, for second and third place, overall.