Killarney Race Preview

The Hankook SA National Formula Championship, returns to Cape Town on the 24th September 2016, for the 6th round of the 2016 season. With most of the top National Championship contenders, in the field, the entry for the race at Killarney, has also been bolstered, by a number of local competitors, as well. Over the past year or so, Formula Vee racing in Cape Town, has been revived, with entries growing slowly but surely and a number of them, will be competing in the National event, on the 24th September, eager to see how they match up, against the highly experienced regular National Championship competitors.

All four, of the top contenders, for the 2016 SA National Championship title, will be in the field, headed by the current log leader, ex SA National Champion Symm Grobler (Rhema 2), who comes to Cape Town, with a narrow five point advantage, over multiple ex SA National Champion, Peter Hills (Lube Fusion Rhema 2), who has an even narrower four point advantage, over Gert Van Den Berg (BP Nantes Motors Rhema 2), with another ex-multiple SA National Champion Jaco Schriks (Rhema 2), a mere one point behind him! In addition to that, the all-time record holder, Alan Holm (Office Direct Rhema 2), will be making his first appearance of the year, after securing an unprecedented fifth National Championship title, last year, the first time that this has been achieved, in the fifty year history of the category, in this country!

Also coming down to Cape Town, for the event, will be Greg Wilson (Reflex Solutions Forza), Luchen Ramchander (Miami Products and Services Forza), newcomer Jason Greyling (Forza), Brandon Hills (Lube Fusion Rhema 2), two times SA National Champion Anthony Taylor (Vacuform Rhema 2), (Barry Du Plessis (Tri-Star/Airex Lantis) and Lendl Jansen (Bull Security Rhema 2).

Leading the local challenge, will be Byron Mitchell (Sting), William Vice (Valley Funerals/Gearbox Exchange Laser), Elroy Vice (Ware Check Lantis), Richard Carr (Rhema), Nicholas Van Der Merwe (Arrows), Mitch Jantjies (Valley Funerals Omega), Dylan Mitchell (Lantis) and Claud Saunders (A Plus Accounting Formula Vee)