Red Star Race Preview

The penultimate round of the 2016 Hankook South African National Formula Vee Championship will be run at the Red Star Raceway, on the 5th November 2016. This will be the first time that the category will visit Red Star Raceway and may very well be the first time that a four wheel National Championship category has raced at the circuit! Originally scheduled for Midvaal, the race had to be rescheduled, after the Midvaal event was cancelled, due to the unavailability of Timing Equipment, for their scheduled date.

This year’s Formula Vee National Championship battle has been incredibly close throughout the year, with the first four drivers separated by a mere nine points at the head of the Championship Log. To complicate matters further, there are other drivers capable of winning the races at Red Star, who are not currently in contention for the Championship Title. Anthony Taylor did just that, at the recent Cape Town National Championship event, coming through from fifth place on the grid to take the first heat victory. In fact, virtually every race this year has seen in the region of a six car lead battle, with the first six cars crossing the finish line in less than a second on more than one occasion!

Heading the Championship log going into the Red Star event, is three times SA National Formula Vee Champion Peter Hills (Lube Fusion Rhema 2), eight points clear of ex SA National Champion Symm Grobler and two times SA National Champion Jaco Schriks (Rhema 2), both of whom, are a single point clear of Gert Van Den Berg (BP Nantes Motors Rhema 2) on the Championship log!

Other drivers who should be in the Red Star line up include Luschen Ramchander (Miami Products and Services Forza), Lendl Jansen (Bull Security Rhema 2), Greg Wilson (Reflex Solutions Forza), Ben Pienaar (BJ Pro Welding Rhema 2), Travas Rugheimer (Rhema 2), Brandon Hills (Lube Fusion Rhema 2), Ross Rugheimer (Rhema 2), Liam Pienaar (Phoenix Jewellers Forza), Geoff Tugwell (Solarutility Vee), Anthony Taylor (Solarutility Rhema 2)  and  Barry Du Plessis (Tri-Star/Airex Lantis).